advice · awards · beauty · best of 2015 · dupe · favourites · lipstick · mac · mac cosmetics · makeup · makeup reviews · makeup revolution · maybelline · mua · reviews · top products

Best of beauty 2015 ❤

Happy new year to all my family, friends, followers and fellow bloggers ❤

We’re kicking off the new year with a recap of my all time favourite makeup products from last year that I would never have survived without 😉 I also have an amazing new years resolution post I hope to have up this week alongside numerous reviews of Christmas presents and various other bits and pieces.

So first, the best face products.
I’m yet to find a really great primer and foundation, I feel like I get on with some for a few weeks then all of a sudden it’s useless and does nothing for me!

image

Best powder-  Makeup Gallery pressed powder
This is such a great setting powder, it’s lightweight, affordable and sets myunder eye concealer perfectly without a crease.

Best contour kit- Freedom makeup
I bought this on a whim when I placed a Freedom makeup order online but at the time I had a pretty awesome tan so it was too light, now that’s faded I’m pleased to say that the shades are perfect for a subtle, daily contour which blends perfectly. This is also another very affordable priced product.

Best HighlighterMUA Cosmetics in Golden lights
Seriously this is the most amazing highlighter I have come across in the past 2 years I cannot believe pigmented it is and how amazingly flawless it makes your skin look. And the bonus side is only £3.

Best concealer- LaGirl pro conceal in neutral
I found this in my local Poundland a few months ago and I instantly fell in love with it are used to use collection concealer but I found that it creased under my eyes quite badly but this one doesn’t, it’s great and covers all blemishes really well.

image

Best eyeshadow palettes- too faced chocolate bar
This isn’t really the most affordable palette on the market as it’s about £40 I think but it is by far the best palette I have used; it smells absolutely divine, the Shadows a crazy pigmented and they blend so easily that you always look like a pro.

image

Freedom makeup- Rock and Roll Queen palette
When I made my first freedom make up order I decided that this would be perfect, I had mainly neutral pallets and the Jewel shades in this just looked amazing, so I decided to pick it up and it was one of the best moves I have ever made the colours are seriously just beautiful and also blend really easily and are really pigmented.

image

Maybelline ‘the Nudes’ palette
My amazing fiancé actually bought this for me just after Christmas and I instantly fell in love with it, I wanted it since it was released in the US over a year ago. Was it worth the wait? Yes! This is another go-to palette for me now, when I’m in a rush I will always go for a nude eye and this palette just shouts at me.

image

Maybelline ‘blushing nudes’ palette
I got this the same time as the Nudes palette as they were on 3 for 2 in Superdrug. I was in shock when I saw just how pigmented the colours were. I’ve noticed with a lot of ‘drugstore’ branded shimmery eyeshadows you tend to get a brush full of glitter and no actual colour, these on the other hand end up the exact same colour as they look in the pans!

image

Best mascaras- Maybelline lash sensational mascara
I almost ran out of Benefit roller lash just before Christmas and unfortunately nowhere near me sells Benefit products so I thought I’d finally take the plunge and try this one instead, I love how gorgeous it makes my lashes look, they look so full and long it’s almost as if I’m wearing falsies. The wand is roughly based on the roller lash one only it’s fatter so picks up more lashes in one go.

Benefit Roller lash mascara
Of course this was included! I haven’t stopped talking about it since I bought Elle magazine in March(?) last year. Honestly I love this, it picks up and pushes up each lash and just makes it stay there all day, I’ve never been one to curl my eyelashes but if I did, I would have stopped when I found this.

image

Best eye products – Too faced Shadow insurance eyeshadow primer
I got this with my Too faced Chocolate bar palette and noticed how much better my eyeshadow stayed in place, and how much the colours stood out. I thought (and still think) that this is the most amazing eye primer I’ve come across so far! I’ve only used deluxe sample size ones so far but I will be getting the full sized one very soon.

Makeup revolution waterproof eyeliner in black
I’m hideously fussy when it comes to liquid liners and pens and I will not tolerate uneven shapes/lines. This, although it’s not completely perfect (the brush is slightly scratchy) is the best I’ve come across, I’ve had mine for around a month now and the brush is still a perfect point for that super small detail, it hasn’t dried out like so many others would have done and it’s matte! I actually cannot stand shiny black eyeliner, it actually turns my stomach. It ticks all my boxes and I’m happy with it, for £1.50 it’s hard to say no to!

Essence long lasting eyeliner in black
I can’t remember who recommended this to me as I was sick of eyeliner just wearing off from my waterline after just a few hours. These are £1.50 from wilkos (UK girls) and almost completely stay put for the day, I occasionally get it run in the corners if it’s windy and my eyes well up but other than that I haven’t had a problem with it, it’s perfect!

image

Best blushers – Milani baked blush in Berry Amore
I’m sure I got this in a swap around a year ago and I completely fell in love with it, it’s more of a deeper Berry colour rather than a pink/coral which I’d usually go for but the shimmer lifts it up just that little bit and gives a brighter look.

Sleek blush in rose gold
One of my swap buddies asked me to pick her one of these up, so I thought I’d be nosey and look at swatches, that was it then, I ordered us one each and it’s now a go to of mine. It’s apparently a dupe for Nars orgasm which everyone raves about (I will be seeing what all the fuss is about!) But I actually don’t own! I love sleek products in general so if you haven’t checked them out yet then please do.

image

Best cream eyeshadow – Maybelline 24hr colour tattoo
These are seriously great, I picked them up for £2 each in boots sale a while back now but I think they’re around £5 each normally. I’ve used them as eyeshadow bases, as block colours alone or blended in with normal eyeshadows and each way they’re just as fabulous! They genuinely do last around 24 hours, which I’m not sure is a good or bad thing, I personally don’t expect to wear makeup for 24 hours but if you do then that’s great!

image

Best lip gloss – LAgirl glazed lip paint
I don’t remember how I ended up with one of these but it was the best luck ever that I did! The formula isn’t too overpowering so you can still wear it over a lipstick, it just adds a nice tint to your lips. It also has a minty/menthol scent to it which helps plump your lips up as you wear it.

NYX butter glosses
An amazing American friend of mine sent me these in a swap and I was really dubious, I’d never been a fan of glosses because I hadn’t found any that weren’t sticky, but these are a whole other story! I actually fell in love with these from the first moment, I actually feel like applying these all the time, they genuinely feel soo great!

image

Best Lipsticks – Maybelline colour sensational lipstick
The one in the photo here is Plum passion limited edition one, I only really picked this up because the packaging was too adorable to miss out on so when I first used the lipstick I was pleasantly surprised as to how creamy and long lasting it was. Maybelline is now one of my go to lipstick brands.

Makeup gallery all about the pout
Poundlands makeup range did it again this year, I couldn’t resist £1 For a lipstick so I picked up around 4 different shades. This one is Deep Red which also happens to be an exact colour dupe for MAC Russian red! I love how these apply so smoothly and evenly and I’d definitely suggest to anyone that it’s a ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ example!

Catrice ultimate colour lipstick
A few years back I did a swap with a girl from Holland I think it was and she bought me a Catrice lipstick amongst other bits, I’d never even heard of Catrice back then but I seriously cannot explain to you how easily I fell in love with it and how desperately I needed to buy more. So when I went to Spain in October I stumbled across a store that sold Catrice so I was crazy excited and had to buy more! The one in the photo is ‘in a rose garden’.

Makeup revolution lipstick
I heard a lot of people raving about makeup revolution so I thought I’d try them out, this was the first lipstick I bought from their range so I was a bit unsure to start with but it was more the colour I was worried about not the product. I love how pigmented these lipsticks are and how 90% are meant to be dupes for high end ones. These cannot be beaten!

image

Best limited edition – MAC (of course!)
MAC have and a great year with their limited edition products, there was the Isabel and Reuben Toledo, Cinderella, Guo Pei, Giambattista Valli, Bao Bao Wan, Wash and dry, Dita von Teese, Mia Moretti, Ellie Goulding, Magic of the night, etc. They had so many different collections which most of the time sold out before I managed to get a hold of them unfortunately but this year I will be on the ball and will research more into release dates etc. ‘Cause who doesn’t love a limited edition MAC product?!

Tell me your favourites from 2015 in the comments ❤

Hx

10 thoughts on “Best of beauty 2015 ❤

  1. So nice to read great reviews about makeup revolution. I discovered this brand in early 2015 and thought it was something amazing for the price even with shipping to my country and it is even nicer to continue finding out about other great products of theirs!

Leave a Reply

